satisfaction

sorry, idk if this belongs here, or even on the forum. but i was curious to know your thoughts.

who actually feels any satisfaction after completing a project, big or small. i'm still a noob, a one man crew, and everything is just about learning, so i'm bound to make mistakes, many mistakes. it's hard to show people your mistakes, especially when you know they are mistakes and they will only take glee in pointing them out.

why do you do this? how much of your heart do you put into a project? or is it just a job? a hobby? fun? a process? art?

how do you feel when it's over?

i don't feel any satisfaction at all. i just look at my failures and mistakes. to me it's like getting drunk and doing something stupid. you wake up and say 'never again!' after each of my 3 short films so far, i say that's it, i don't want to do this any more. then i 'sober up' and realise it's not an option really, i have to do this.

after each film i feel more depressed than happy, i question as to why the f i'm doing this. i dont know why yet, but still continue....

I can't get no.

Sincerely, i believe you have to possess the drive to overcome the preliminary period of "Finding your feet" in the trade. It's a craft like any other, unless in scarce, unique cases, you tend to evolve over time rather than arrive the finished package instantaniously.

The question is purely yours, you say you tend not to enjoy the process of showing others your work. This could be mere embarresment on the general scale, simply related to the craft itself. As opposed to your work being the subject of that embarresment.

I would say you're striving too hard, and not one to believe that "Slow and steady wins the race". In this case, to become an accomplishment director, writer, sound artist, Foley etc. Any of these demand repetition, and strenious desire to allow your craft and methods to grow.