Hi

Hey, I just signed up to the site. My name is Michael and I am from Townsville, Queensland in Australia. I a very interested in film studies and film making and would like to work in the area. I am currently studying Graphics Design and Digital Imaging at university because unfortunately there is no Film School here.

Thanks dude, the only reason I chose Graphic Design is because it has a video subject in there somewhere. Also I plan to take some classes from the Theatre and Cinema Studies degrees on offer at my Uni.

Essentially I would like to be a "Jack of all trades" film maker, but my main interest is directing. I am not the best creative writer but when i read a good story I immediately have an image of how i would bring it to life as a film. I am working on writing scripts though, and am getting there slowly.

Essentially I would like to be a "Jack of all trades" film maker, but my main interest is directing. I am not the best creative writer but when i read a good story I immediately have an image of how i would bring it to life as a film. I am working on writing scripts though, and am getting there slowly.

Jack of All Trades, and Master of None. It's definitely good to be well-rounded, but at the same time, it's even better to focus. Finding a happy-medium between being well-rounded and focused is what I personally think you should strive for.

Welcome MGrinstead.

You know that some of the best directors didn't
go to film school. Peter Jackson from your area
did okay without going. Jane Campion and Baz
Luhrmann didn't go to film school.

No time like now to make a movie. What's
stopping you?

Well, there isn't much really, but I don't have much funds. However i have access to HD camera's i can borrow from my university. However one day i would really like to learn how to cut and edit film, and shoot in 35mm etc. I don't know how to gain any expirence like that.