• READ BEFORE POSTING!
    • If posting a video, please post HERE, unless it is a video as part of an advertisement and then post it in this section.
    • If replying to threads please remember this is the Promotion area and the person posting may not be open to feedback.

watch Film colorization Demo reel

Hi everyone. I am a student at a 3d compositing school in Orlando Florida. Recently I decided I was gonna make a demo reel entirely of colorized black and white film footage. However, unlike most methods of colorizing black and white footage I set out to do the whole thing in 3d compositing programs. Im not really sure if this is a new technique or not. Ive done alot of research and I havent really seen anyone approach a 2d black and white video with Rotoscoping and Rotopainting technique's before. Well, here is a link to my vimeo where it can be viewed. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. This is my passion in life. I found it to be the most exciting thing Ive ever learned in school. So please, if you have to rip it apart; because thats the only way im gonna improve myself.

http://vimeo.com/16296140

Thanks alot guys! and wheatgrinder you asked what turns me on so much about this... I like it because it feels like im helping preserve pieces of film history. Thats why i feel in love with it. I also like most people was not to keen on colorization at first but when I started this whole project I set out to colorize things the way i thought they should be done with nice subtle colors and to make sure the colors dont take away from the film itself.

It's most definitely something to marvel. Whether it is necessary or not, whether it hightens or simply creates a false representation, I'm not so sure.

Is the authenticity of the era not the "Core" of its being, the colour, the quality, the style?

It's purely the arguement of "What if this era had this available?"

You cannot deny that it's a newlook, one that perhaps you may have never happened to see...