That's what it's all about :(

I was trying to figure it out all this time (the real reason), now I know...

There should be more investigative journalists like these.

Interesting piece... with the exception of the black rights activist. I'm not sure if the U.S. government really cares about the skin color, but I can understand the feds getting a little upset about a third world country gaming the system so they (Khadafi) could get rich.

The Q is: Is there really any gold in the volts of The Bank Of England...
Anybody seen it?!

As long as a country uses fiat money, a fractional reserve lending system and a "national" bank, it doesn't matter if they have any gold or not.

As long as a country uses fiat money, a fractional reserve lending system and a "national" bank, it doesn't matter if they have any gold or not.

As a finance and international business major, you just made me flashback to my uni years.

Funny and typical how what i studied has nothing to do with my work or interests.

Gold serves no/little purpose in working capital/cash these days.
Murdock's right about the use of fiat (funny) money, which is based upon labor output or credit lending.

Just because Gaddafi was rallying African oil nations around a gold based "self determination" plan doesn't mean that he was acting in their best interests any more than the pied piper was working in the best interests of the villagers.

The US likely wanted both gold and oil assets secured.
If anything, this is reassuring to me because if the US was interested in sending the world into an economic tailspin to keep emerging nations, especially BRIC, from competitively out-consuming natural resources then ALLOWING Gaddafi to force oil purchasing nations to go back to a gold standard really would have made a mess of the global economy.
By preventing that the US has confirmed that it's actually trying to not f#ck things up, which I'll be the first to propose it is/was up to.
(I'm strangely disappointed, actually).