• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Tarantino/Nolan/Hughes influcenced screenplay

Hi Guys

I'm new to indietalk, I have just finished a screenplay I have been working on for a while and hoping to turn it into my first directed feature.

The main emphasis I put into this screenplay is budget, it reflects the length of the screenplay - just on 80 pages. It reflects the locations - only about four locations, there are few characters and everything is shot indoors.

Dialouge is a big emphasis for me so there is a bit of it in here, some people I have already shown it too say it reads a bit too much like a stage play but I would love to get your opinions

I would say it is influenced by a bit of Tarantino, a bit of Nolan and a bit of John Hughes but think it is an original concept in itself. I love Nolans (and tarantino's) use of telling the story through different chronalogical flashbacks, think of Nolans first feature - Following. So that is what I have tried to use here. And what I generally use for every screenplay I write.

There is a bit of 'slang' in this, typical of most teenage conversations and a bit of sexual talk (again typical of teenage conversations) alas I will leave you to judge if you want to read it.

If you give me your email addy's I can send the script to you.

Oh and please be as brutal as possible ;)

Once again thanks a lot

Cheers

Matt

Welcome to the board!

I'm busy as heck working out a rewrite for my own screenplay, so I don't think I can read all 80 pages. I can read a couple scenes, however. If you want, you can tell me which scenes to read. If you don't have anything particular in mind, I'll read the first 10 and and final 10. I'm a total screenwriting novice, BTW, but maybe my notes can be worth something.

joseph@crackerfunk.com