If I Give You a $1200 budget !

HI Guys, i am new to the whole filmmaking scene. i recently bought a canon t3i which i am using with the kit lens.my biggest concern right now is what computer i will need to edit my videos from the t3i. i currently own a pc but if i try to edit the videos on vegas OMG i cant even play them back.i will be in the market to buy a computer for video/photo editing in the next 2 to 3 months.I am getting serious about doing short films with effects and color corrections and all that.my question is, if i was to give you a budget of $1200 to go out and get the best computer for video/photo that those $1200 can get you:
<P>
1. what would you go with PC or MAC ?
2. Laptop or desktop ? even tho i dont like the laptop idea becuase you cant do much of upgrades down the line on a laptop like you can on a desktop.
3.would you go with a custom build or buy from one of the big box stores ?
4.what editing software would you go with (FINAL CUT,PREMIER,AFTER EFFECTS....)
5.what would you do if you was in my shoes right now.
6.what are the specs for a machine you would recommend ?
<P>
any suggestions are greatly welcome , i am here to learn so please help me out !

-ASUS GTX580 1536MB 384-bit

-OCZ RevoDrive 3 120GB PCI-Express 2.0 Solid State Drive

-AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz

-CORSAIR Enthusiast Series 850W

-Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Memory: 4GB DDR3 1600

ASUS EVO AM3

I built that computer for about $1100. Check to see what the same computer would cost preassembled. You do save money building your own, but it doesnt come with an OS or any other programs.

pc all the way...
i'm gonna build a mad pc with 2k... 24 gigs of ram.... 3 terabytes 3.some gigahertrz processor...
about two gigs of video ram
badass case...
a mac like that would run about 10-15k...
just saying...

-AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz