When's the time to tackle a feature?

I'm really thinking of doing a feature next year, and taking it seriously. I'd be on the budget of about $1500-$2000. I'll be 15 then and have done some shorts. I've been making films for a couple of years now, but only recently have I started taking it seriously. I was wondering your opinions regarding when the right time to shoot a feature is?

Thanks! :)

When you're ready to, and when you've done all the preproduction and legwork to pull it off. If you think you can do it, then get all our prep work and people ready and do it!

When you're ready to, and when you've done all the preproduction and legwork to pull it off. If you think you can do it, then get all our prep work and people ready and do it!

Thanks for the advice. I feel I'm going to need a good bit of a year to build up the knowledge in order to shoot it. But I'm getting there ( I think :D ).

The best way to gauge is to ask yourself how your shorts turned out and give yourself an honest answer. Do you think an hour and a half of your last short film would be something that others would be able to watch and enjoy? Because a finished feature will probably end up about as good as the stuff you've most recently made. If so, then go for it. If not, make more short films until you get to the point where you think your abilities will get you there.

Also, make sure that whatever story you end up with has enough story to tell. Nothing more boring than watching what should be a 50 minute film that's been stretched into an hour and a half. If you only have a 50 minute story, cut it to be 50 minutes and don't worry about it being feature length.

My humble opinion...