Mumblecore

Hells yeah!

For those that don't care enough to read that other thread, here's a re-post of my feelings on this subject:

Yay, we're finally talking about mumblecore! Thanks for listening, guys.

Okay, here's what I like about mumblecore -- it bridges the gap between the Haves and the Have Nots. A movie like "Puffy Chair" proves that ANYBODY can do it.

I have about as basic a setup as anyone on this forum would want -- a T2i, a Rode NTG2 and a Zoom H4n (audio equipment borrowed). That's a really inexpensive setup. However, it's inexpensive to me, because I'm a professional bartender. It's inexpensive to the vast majority of the people on this forum, most of whom have full-time "day jobs".

It's not even slightly inexpensive to that snot-nosed kid in the inner-city, or that rural small-town, or that trailer park. That kid who loves watching movies and dreams of making them some day. But his dream is a pie in the sky, because he finds it ever so difficult to muster the money needed to get even this basic setup.

To that kid, I present "Puffy Chair". You don't need expensive equipment to tell a good story. All you need is a passion for filmmaking, a desire to learn the craft, a cheap camera, and a solid story.

"Puffy Chair" didn't have sound design, M1chea1. The entire thing was shot with a camcorder. That's it. No lights. No audio gear. No nothing. Just a dude with a camera. And now that dude is in Hollywood, working with professional crews and professional actors, getting paid professional dollars. And he started with a cheap camcorder.