Making music videos

I'm planning to film a music video sometime this year, but I have never done it before. What are some things I must know?

Also, I always thought it would be hard getting the singer's voice matching up to the music. But this should be avoidable (by having the singer sing to the original song file).

Some music videos look as if the singer is mouthing the words, even though their lip movements match the song lyrics. Any idea why?

Share any general tips if you have them!

Thanks

I am also thinking of doing a music video, my initial assumption is you have them actually play the music in each bit of your movie, and then substitute the actual music track over there performance and hope it matches up?

I could and likely am, totally wrong in how to do it.

Yep. That’s the way it’s done. You have the singer lip sync to the
track. The reason why it sometimes looks like the singer is
mouthing the words is because they are. And either doing it poorly
- it’s harder to do than it seems - or the editor didn’t sync up
the audio well.

In just about all cases even the band itself aren’t playing the
instruments. It's very, very rare for the audio to be recorded
during the production of a music video. The exception being
a live concert.

I have found it helps to have the singer actually sing (not at full power, no need to waste their voice) during shots rather than consciously lip syncing. Most of the time it works better for the timing and looks more genuine.

Make sure you get a locked down version of the song to use during both production and for the edit. It can help if you use the same file for playback that you are going to cut to. Have an iPod or something with the song on it, and someone dedicated to playback.