indoor microphone

I found out i pro. want a hyper cardoiod pattern, and on other blogs the two main ones around 500 (give or take some $) and are the rode nt3 and oktavia mk-012. However, does the oktavia need phantom power? I dont know what to use for phantom power, buit, according to you all, it's something to avoid. Alos, I cannot find a site to possibly purchase it in the u.s., or if it comes with all those capsules or if those are bought seperatly. Is the rode better, or easier? Any other good indoor mics, or im buyin because ive spent enough hours on this. I f I also get a xlr to mini plug cable, homemade boom pole, headphones I already have, is that all I really need? Ill prob. be working with consumer camcorder with mic input. Please just tell me what I should buy!

I'll toss you a few thoughts I have on the microphone issue. However, I'm not an expert.

I went with the Rode NTG-3, which is a shotgun microphone. I use it for outdoor and indoor, and I've had no issues with it at all. The best thing about this specific microphone is that it is, as far as sound quality and reception goes, nearly identical to the Sennheiser MK-416, which of course was the shotgun of choice for years for a lot of people. The Rode NTG-3 is cheaper, so there's no reason to get the MK-416.

I think I'd use a hyper-cardioid if I was doing like a street interview, or something of that nature, personally. I've found the shotgun to be more than adequate for all filming situations that I do (mostly narrative).

Phantom power is something that will be supplied to your microphone from whatever you plug it into, if that specific piece of equipment has phantom power. If it's a consumer camcorder, odds are it will not have phantom power (in my experience, that is).

As far as 'what you should buy', yes a microphone on a boom pole and earphones to monitor with from the source is about all you need for sound, it's all I use or my sound guy will use when recording.