How to direct and not come off as a jerk?

I've had some experience over the past couple of years "directing" a few shorts (nothing longer than 5 minutes), and have noticed that when I hear my voice on camera giving directions to the actors, DP, and other misc. parts of the crew that I feel like I come off as a jerk.

I began directing with a total control mentality, i.e. framing every shot and micromanaging actors, but i don't think that my crew, who had seen me as an equal, enjoyed taking orders by another person. I think that this can be potentially unhealthy for promoting a team dynamic among the crew, as other members may begin to despise the director.

However, now that I have adopted more of stand-offish style--especially when working with DPs--I feel that much of the vision--especially the intended vision within the script--becomes lost.

At the moment I actually think that ONE of the problems with most Hollywood produced films is that the influx of so many visions causes a mitigation of the Director's true vision that must be realized from his script.

In the end I feel that ultimately

#1. The Director must be someone who others respect and take orders from. Or else he holds no command.
#2. The Director must be involved in (and most of the times frame each shot) with the DP. The Director should really be the DP, but the director has so many responsibilities that he cannot physically hold the camera at the same time as directing.
#3. The Director must be the editor. Most of the times I am editing my scenes in the script or during production.

At this level (the student-level) of filmmaking I think that directing is very much a delicate balance between control-freak jerkiness (although I think many directors do come off this way) and maintaining a determination for achieving the authentic vision.