Film Out Transfer?

Hey guys, I'm new to the boards here and I want to say that this website is extremely helpful! Bear with me, my post is a little long.

I have a question about a project I'm going to be starting on soon.

I planned to shoot my film digitally, and edit it myself etc. It's low budget (under $1000), and I plan on renting my camera and building my own track/dolly and jib. Anyway, the whole project was going to be entered into a few festivals next year. As some of you may know, most festivals will accept dvd submissions for viewing, but as far as screening purposes, they expect an actual film format or betacam. Is it possible to convert a digital format to film? Ive heard that the process is called film out and I've only found a couple of websites that offer such a service but charge $150-200 per minute of transfer...does this seem legit?

I'd love to shoot 16mm film, but I'm a complete noob when it comes to film. Would it be possible (and less expensive) to shoot on an inexpensive 16mm camera and splice the film together myself once it's developed?

If anyone can offer some tips or point me in the direction for further reading about shooting and editing film and that whole deal, I would love to learn more. Sorry for the long post guys, and I appreciate the help!

:P

Dirty little secret no one talks about is that while nearly all festivals offer digital projection of some kind, the quality of their video projectors tends to be bad/the people they have using the projectors don’t tend to know how to use/calibrate them.

As some of you may know, most festivals will accept dvd submissions for viewing, but as far as screening purposes, they expect an actual film format or betacam.

Very few festivals expect an actual film print, these days.

Is it possible to convert a digital format to film?

Yes, and if your budget is the aforementioned $1000 - prolly aint gonna happen.