Entering the realm of Filmmaking - Requesting assistance!

Greetings fellow filmmakers, i hope you are all doing well.
I am posting on this forum for your help as i am starting my magical adventure in video production. So currently, i am pretty much a newbie.

First of all, let me just explain my situation. I am a 21 year old male with a huge undying passion for filmmaking. I dream to make adrenaline pumping short action films. I do not and have not attended any film school so everything i know on this subject is self taught through sites such as youtube, Vimeo and forums such as this.

Me and my film partner have been blessed with some pretty decent gear but i lack the knowledge to utilize them to it's maximum potential.

List of the items at my disposal:

- Canon 600D/T3i with the 18-55MM Kit Lens.
- Rode Video mic condenser microphone
- Zoom H4n (with a dead cat)
- Flimsy $20 tripod

I understand i pretty much have a decent set up to shoot some good short films but due to my lack of knowledge and beginner status, i am having trouble to start of and i am in need of your help.

As i mentioned, i want to be shooting actions films. So my actors are going to be running around a fair amount. Where and how do i position the Zoom H4n recorder? How can i utilize my Shotgun mic effectively? In my experience with the shotgun mic, it pretty much sucks. I have to be close to the mic and it picks up so much unwanted hissing like sound. This makes it bad for shooting action films. I am extremely uneducated when it comes to the audio part so any help and advice whatsoever will be golden.

Am i lacking any items in my set up which could be useful? I understand i will need a better Lens so if possible could you recommend a good video lens? I don't have an extremely high budget but a fair price would be possible.

Also any links to any sites and resources to help me learn the tricks of the trade will be very much appreciated.