• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Chase scene

I've shot a chase scene with a roller skater, some roller bladers, and a scooter. I've pieced together a chase scene but it needs work.

Any tips on editing chase scenes?

Thanks.

We've already shot it. We definitely implemented the 180 degree rule. We also kept in mind screen direction. All of the footage is there, and its wonderful, right now I'm just wondering if anyone has tips on pacing and how to cut a chase scene together.

Thanks.

Wow, I want to see it!
Coming around the corner shots are my favorite! I hope it has lots of those :)

Maybe pace it to fit your favorite fast song, something with a break down or a cool hook, even if the scene runs with no music, the audience will still sense the beat..

( Total NOOB by the way! ) you get what you pay for :)

Yeah sure. I'll post something (without sound) later today or tomorrow. I like the editing to a song idea, even if that's not the song being used. Great idea. Thanks.

I find that chase scenes with an excessive amount of extreme close-ups have less impact and look like video games. Check out some classic chase scenes.

Bullit
The French Connection
Duel

lead, lead, chase, lead , chase, chase, lead, chase, - repeated -

I'll check that out. That would be great help for pacing I would imagine.

I find that chase scenes with an excessive amount of extreme close-ups have less impact and look like video games. Check out some classic chase scenes.

Bullit
The French Connection
Duel

This is a great suggestion Indietalk. Thanks. I will have to give these movies a watch because it just so happens my lead character is stuck in the eighties.

Perhaps I could style it like an eighties chase. Know any good examples of that?

I'll check that out. That would be great help for pacing I would imagine.