• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Better in B/W

I always thought that b/w looked much better than color. I even shot a short drama in b/w and it looks great. I think the reason that it looks great is because it covers up a lot of imperfections. Even a shitly lighten shot can look really good if just desaturate it. B/W also covers up your actors imperfections, it makes people easier to look at;)

I have found lighting for black and white to be much more
difficult and exacting than lighting for color.

Really, well I'm not that experienced in lighting.

I think b/w should still be used in movies today, but only for a good reason. Don't just use b/w because you think that it would be cool. For example, a good use of b/w is a period peace( Shindler's List) or a drama( Following).
B/W shouldn't be used in something like The Hangover.

Interesting.

It's certainly more difficult to light for B&W. But, then again, you'll be as prepared as you would be for colour if you've prepped accordingly. But things can change on set.

The colour should depict the story, if it's B&W for the sake of it, it's a little disheartening. It wasn't a style, it was a limitation. So, I think if you're going to use B&W, then you have to honour the time.

Seeing a group of guys deploying a heist in high-tops, and a 2011 Heat jersey, isn't going to work. Atleast, not for me. I feel it's unnecessary.

I agree with Rik and PaperTwin about it being much harder to light in black and white, because colour is one of the most used tools for separation. Desaturating colour footage does make it easier to analyse lighting setups though; somehow taking away colour makes an image much less distracting - pure black or white, for instance, jumps out at me much less than bright pink might.