Beginner Camera Questions

I'm using a Canon Vixia HF S20. I'm still figuring stuff out on how to use it and change the settings.

One thing I'm trying to understand is manual settings for light levels. Right now the camera will adjust for dark but then the picture becomes grainy. I would like to set the camera so that it doesn't adjust for low light. Eventually I'd like to do some low lit scenes. Can anyone help me? Thanks.

I've never used the hf s20 before but I do know how camcorders work. (I also looked up the specs of your camera).
Your lens can go all the way to F1.8 it seems (on the specs list) so that will be good for low light. (In low light you want your aperture/F-stop usually to be as low a number as possible). The lower the aperture/F-Stop, the more light your lens lets in.
You can also lower your shutter speed, as a high shutter speed lets in less light. Finally, make sure your ISO or Gain (whichever it is) is not super high. The higher the ISO/gain the more grain/noise is introduced to your image. The best solution is of course to use more light, whether cheap Home Depo lights or professional lights. More light will usually make everything easier and look better.

As I do not know how this camera works it may be easier for you to try looking up videos of other people using the camera. But these setting should be easily accessible in manual mode.

Hope this helps.

I've never used the hf s20 before but I do know how camcorders work. (I also looked up the specs of your camera).
Your lens can go all the way to F1.8 it seems (on the specs list) so that will be good for low light. (In low light you want your aperture/F-stop usually to be as low a number as possible). The lower the aperture/F-Stop, the more light your lens lets in.