• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

A way to color black and white film stock?

Hello everyone!

I have a question that may or may not seem idiotic! I am a film student who is currently experimenting with 16mm black and white film. I am using Kodak Plus-x.
I would like to color one object in my film. Just one balloon I was wondering if it would be possible to go through each frame (Pain-stakingly) and with a marker color the balloon in. Is this possible? Or do you have any other suggestions? Thanks!

Last edited:
How to color one object in black and white film stock

Hello!

I am currently a film student. We are working with 16 mm black and white film. For this project I am using kodak plus-x film. I want to be creative and "wow" my film teacher. In my film I want a certain object to appear in color. For this film it will be one balloon. Could I pain-stakingly go through each frame and manually color in the balloon with a marker? This may be a stupid question lol. But it's all I can think of! If this is how I should go about it, what type of marker should I use? Please tell me wether or not this will work, or if you have any other suggestions. Thanks!

Back in the day, when the film was being edited, they had people actually paint the film to color a certain person or object. You can see examples of this in "The Great Train Robbery", which came out in 1903 and is often regarded as the first film with a plot. Anyways, you can probably digitally paint it with whatever editing program you have. Or, you could go old school.

If you are working with after effects, it would be pretty easy to make a new solid object and then mask off the shape of your balloon. Then, just animate the mask to go along with your balloon (it won't be changing shape that much, so would be pretty fast).

Just set the solid object to overlay or color or something like that .