What's a nice n' cheap digi for a novice?

Hi.
I'm a novice student filmmaker.
I BADLY need a camera for making film and stuff.
If I could get some help that'd be super rad.

So you want to know what camera to get?

How will you edit?

If its VHS tape deck to VHS tape deck, you can probably pick up a vhs camcorder off ebay or a pawn shop for way under 100.

If you have a computer with a capture card, VIVO, or firewire, then get a mini-dv camcorder. You can get one brand new even for around 200.

If you want more specific advice than that you'll have to tell us what you want.

I need a digital because, One: I'm too lazy for VHS editing and two: I want to shoot in DOGMA 95.
And that says to shoot on consumer cams.
I need one in my family's price range, I'm 15 and have been making movies for about 3 years, 300 to 450 is about as far as we can go right now.

i honesty dont see the point to Dogme 95. i dont see how making new sets of rules is better then using unwritten ones. the idea behind it is good but i think they went around it the wrong way... but its your choice man and good luck 2 u

lux said:
the idea behind it is good but i think they went around it the wrong way.

Might you elaborate a little on that thought?

I've always been a " story > all " person... and stripping a production to its essentials of story & acting has always sounded pretty good to me.

Obviously, having a hefty budget with elaborate sets & other luxuries will make for a lusher presentation... but that means nothing if the story (and the people who can present it) are never there to begin with.

What changes to the Dogme 95 would you like to see?

_______

To get back on track to the OP, though...

I want to shoot in DOGMA 95.
And that says to shoot on consumer cams.

No, that is not correct.

Here are the original basic criteria for it.

• Shooting must be done on location. Props and sets must not be brought in.
  • The sound must never be produced apart from the image or vice-versa.