• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

What lense is she using in these interviews?

I am very interested in getting this same lens effect where the interviewee is in focus and the background is blurry or out of focus.

How is she accomplishing this?

http://vimeo.com/29513113

I have a Canon HF S21 camcorder....

thanks,
Bruno

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PP-6bC9Q3RM

So there is the result of what I did.

Originally I was going to include a bunch of interview footage which is what drew me to the idea in the first place. After looking at all the footage I got, it was clear that the quality of the interviewees and their answers just wasn't there. I'm sure a lot of it had to do with my interviewer skills too. Plus the audio was OK but there was a TON of background noise.

Anyways, that is what I came up with. I've never done anything like this before so it was a huge experience...I had to learn Adobe Premiere in the process too!

I'm still big on that shallow depth of field stuff.

Wheat - I watched that movie of the kid assasins...was pretty good haha, had me laugh a couple times. So that was all done on a HFS100 huh...pretty good.

Now that I learn more about this, I'm thinking I may have made a mistake in not getting a DSLR instead of the HFS21 (which I thought was a great camera). But there seems to be alot more flexibility wth the DSLRs. What are the drawbacks when compared with the HFS21?

Also Wheat - when the boy is running around, that "sketchy" look...that is done by increasing the shutter speed yes??

Thanks everybody!

Hey that's not bad man. Well done.

DSLR's main drawbacks are short clip lengths (about 12 minutes), poor audio, poor rolling shutter and a higher chance to overheat.

Poor audio: use an external recorder and sync in post.

Rolling shutter: not much you can do, just have to plan camera moves around it.