What kind of a lens should I get?

I own a CANON XL1s. I'm going to be getting a Jag35 Pro real soon at a very VERY low price.

Unfortunately the Canon XL1s isn't an HD camcorder so I'm hoping the Jag35 and lens will make up for that. But I'm still relatively new into the lens portion and I'm still studying up. But let's say with a budget of about $300~$600, what's a good lens to buy for my Jag35 and XL1s? On e-bay of course.

You're gonna want to get 2-3 primes (not zoom lenses). The first one you'll want is a 50mm f/1.8 at least. A 50mm f/1.4, which is a big step up from the 1.8, will run you around 350 (maybe less on ebay, def less for a manual lens, which is probably what you want)

The next important one is going to be you wide angle lens. So pick up a 28mm f/2.8. They start around 250, I think.

The brand you buy will depend on the type of lens mount that the Jag has.

Hope this helps!

yes with 300 to 600, get a 50mm f/1.4 and shoot away.

aim to get something around a 24mm and and 85 mm when u have the money. look online to see images of wide angel and telephoto lens so u have an idea of how wide u want ur wide etc.

$600 you can get a lot of good glass.
50mm f1.4 should be less than $60. Steeping up (hey that's both literal AND metaphoric) to a f1.2 puts you in the $300 range..

Zoom lenses work fine. Its just that they tend to not be very fast, and get slower as you zoom in, fast means how much light they let through, f.stop..

Last edited: