What does a DP do?

I have found a director working on 2 music videos in my area and they are looking for a DP. They are a new director so I am sure they wouldn't mind working with me since I have no experience too but I was just wondering exactly what to expect doing as a DP. Also, I plan on asking to sit at the shoot or help out in other ways if I am not qualified to be a DP. Thanks!

DP is a pretty technical job. At the ultra-low budget level, it usually means that you are responsible for lights, and what setting to put the camera on (in addition to probably also working the camera). DP is the person that's most responsible for the look of the film, so if you feel like that's something you're passionate about, go for it! But you better start crackin' -- you got lots to learn.

Also, it doesn't hurt to contact the director, but when a director is seeking a DP, in my experience, they're typically looking for someone who is more experienced with then they are, as far as lighting, etc., are concerned. But that's not always the case -- many directors would just appreciate a co-collaborator, and be willing to give you the DP duties, even if you're inexperienced. So, either way, only thing that makes sense is to go for it!

:lol: I was thinking the same thing!

I have found a director working on 2 music videos in my area and they are looking for a DP. They are a new director so I am sure they wouldn't mind working with me since I have no experience too but I was just wondering exactly what to expect doing as a DP. Also, I plan on asking to sit at the shoot or help out in other ways if I am not qualified to be a DP. Thanks!
The Director of Photography is in charge of the camera and grip
department. The DP works with the director to get the artistic
and technical aspects of a movie related to the image including
lighting, composition, filters, lenses and focal length. The DP
will guide the gaffer, grips and camera operator to get the needed
shots and coverage.