Trouble Transferring Footage

Hello,

I'm trying to tranfer footage from a Canon Vixia hfG10 to a Mac. There's no firewire hookup and it uses cards to record to. Does anyone have any tips? Would a card reader work better? I'll be editing this on iMovie and Final Cut.

Thanks,

Rob

USB?

FireWire was primarily used to transfer to and from cameras or VTRs using HDV, MiniDV or DVCam. Tape format. Most memory card and HDD cameras use USB.

In final cut, with the camera plugged into USB, you'll use the "Log and Transfer" option in the main menu.

Thanks for the advice. It's definitely USB. I've never used memory cards before, so I'll give this a shot. I've heard the relationship between Canon and Mac is a prickly one, any advice is welcome. Again, thank you.

Can't you just create a new folder, then drag-and-drop from the camera's card? With USB, that is. You might need a card-reader, but I'm thinking the camera probably has a USB port (my Canon T2i does).

CBP3, I'm a PC guy, so I'm actually just guessing here, but if there's a prickly relationship between Canon and Mac, I'm thinking it might be the video format? I recommend that might be an area to look into. And if that's the case, then transcoding your footage might be the best solution (perhaps with cineform).

Trouble transferring footage

The trouble continues. My computer won't recognize either the camera or the little card reader I bought. Looks like I might need a specialized card reader. One that can read a SD XC Lexar card.

The trouble continues. My computer won't recognize either the camera or the little card reader I bought. Looks like I might need a specialized card reader. One that can read a SD XC Lexar card.

When you say "won't recognise", what exactly do you mean?