• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Too Much Air Noise a Deal Breaker?

I'm editing my film and cannot get the air noise to go down without the audio being total shit. I'm not sure exactly how it's done in "The Biz" (that sounds pretty unprofessional, but oh well; I'm indie, right? Haha), so I don't know what exactly to do.

I shot with a boom and muff on the boom, now in post, should I adjust the levels so it's quiet when no one speaks, then the volume goes up when they speak, then down right after? I can still hear the air noise when that happens, so it's a bit distracting to me to hear ssssssSSSSHHHHHHTALKTALKTALKSSSHHHHsssssss if that makes any sense whatsoever (as you can tell, I'm typing this from the comfy cell of an asylum).

So, if there is quite a bit of background air noise (thought the speaking words, etc., are louder), is it a dealbreaker for festivals? Thanks!

LM

im no expert but you try do voice over. or like you said cut out the parts where there is no talking. but i wouldnt just leave silence, replace it with so background noise like enviroment noise. birds and shit. your best bet would be to get good audio during recording instead of trying to correct it in post.

I'm not sure what you mean by "air noise". Is it air conditioning, outdoor wind?

If it's outdoor wind noise, how it's done in "the biz" is a blimp, with windjammer. I recently boomed on location in coastal florida outdoors with wind going about 20 mph and it's amazing what a blimp and windjammer will do. It is twice as effective as a "muff" or "softie".

If your problem is with an indoor shot and it's air conditioning noise, we turn off all air conditioning and air handling during the shoot.

But, since it sounds like re-shooting is not an option for you, if the noise is constant, you may be able to notch it out with a parametric eq and still preserve usable dialog.