The Future of filmmaking

Hello.

I'm a young amateur filmmaker who is thinking of going to the university of film production and is inspired by filmmaking. Nonetheless, when I look to the level of film piracy today, the dropping sales of films, films in cinemas- eveything is being downloaded online for free and some people are complaining that it's hard to break-even. I know that the passion can keep me going and I'll (hopefully) create interesting and amusing movies. The question is: can you imagine/predict the future of the filmmaking industry 5+ years later? How will the money be made if more and more people decide to download movies instead of go to cinemas/buy them. Will it become unprofitable and hardly "survivable" profession?! :huh: What are the opportunities, what to expect? Or is it not a good path to choose.

So, please, let me know what you think/predict, what are your thoughts about it and/or I'm just being paranoic? :lol:
Nevertheless, thanks in advance!

I keep going on the faith that people still want to see professionally produced content.
If there is no way to monetize content and make a profit on it going forward then it will go away and people will be stuck watching kitty videos and bad zombie films made in somebody's back yard. I don't think people REALLY want that.

I keep going on the faith that people still want to see professionally produced content.
If there is no way to monetize content and make a profit on it going forward then it will go away and people will be stuck watching kitty videos and bad zombie films made in somebody's back yard. I don't think people REALLY want that.

Well that's what will eventually will happen. We can't help it? Can we?

I don't believe so, Crownom. Just think of people in general... if that DOES happen (kitty videos and bad zombie films), SOMEONE is going to step up and produce a decent film for all the people thirsty for something with taste.