Teen wants to start filming?

Hey guys! Well as it says I am a freshman looking to start filming. I always dreamed of making videos and becoming an editor/director and become part of the youtube top dogs, but I just don't know how to get there. I have a tripod, JVC GRDA30U camcorder, and Final Cut Express. I do some things on the side like filming random things like me skateboarding but I want to start to do shorts. How would I get my friends to help? It would be kind of weird to just ask them, "Hey do you wanna do a movie?" And my parents are kind of iffy on the idea of a youtube channel. I really like writing scripts and planning things out but would that seem weird to make a script to a short movie? Thanks for reading this guys!

I gotta tell you, I can't think of any other way to see if your
friends are interested in making a movie other than asking,
"Hey do you wanna do a movie?". You can't get them to
help by saying, "Hey, wanna go play video games?"

Parents are a different issue. They can be kinda hard to persuade.
Here's what I did when I was your age.

I wrote a couple of scripts, I asked my friends if they wanted to
do a movie, I set a shooting date, got permission to use the
school after hours and then told my parents. Once they saw I
was really serious and this wasn't something I was going to start
and drop, they got behind it.

It's not at all weird to make a script into a short movie. All of us
movie makers do that all the time.

Make three of four short films and show them to your parents. I'll
bet that once they see you are serious and you actually finish
several short films that aren't just fooling around with a camera,
they'll let start a YouTube channel.