So Desperate in Los Angeles: How to Find a Great DP.. STAT?!

Straight to the point: Where / how should I pinpoint a great DP for a first-time filmmaker's project?

I'm a first-time filmmaker who is finally setting out to direct and produce his first narrative short film. In terms of storytelling, I've been in preparation since fall 2011 -- creating a compelling script, regularly feeding on my cinematic inspiration (the Nouvelle Vague films of 1959-1967), and honing the visual aesthetic of this story.

2013's first month is about to wrap, and I'm anxious to move into the next phase of this journey, assembling a cast and crew to realize this story of mine.

The more I research DSLR filmmaking (I plan to shoot with a Canon 550D), the more I realize how essential it is that I pin down and hitch myself to a genius DP, as soon as possible. The rigamarole of focus pulling and building a lens kit and aliasing and moire and on and on and on.... is, granted, VITAL for me to deeply understand as the filmmaker, but ultimately overwhelming and disheartening.

I simply do NOT have the time (I work 9-5) or the expertise to accomplish this task completely on my own. I really need to pin down a brilliant cinematographer in order to move forward. To move at all, really.

I aim to maintain a petite crew. Myself, a DP, a sound tech, and (potentially) a PA, particularly for scenes involving complex light duty.

Funny enough, the cast has come together without too much of a problem. They're chomping at the bit to get this material in the can.

I have roughly 30 days to track down this angel of a DP/cinematographer, before I intend to enter prepro (in March) and principal photography (in April). I am for 12-18 shooting days in total (primarily Fridays - Sundays), including any potential reshoot(s).