• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Price of hiring an editor

I don't know, how much money have you got? That's how much I'm charging. ;)

I've checked out your other threads and I see that you're doing a feature on a tiny budget. Rock-the-fuck-on!

I don't think you should pay for an editor. Not for this project. The money you'd pay for an editor would be so much better spent on audio post production.

You can edit it yourself. Or, you can find people who might want to edit it. I know this to be a personal truth, because I edited a feature film, free of charge, for another member of this website, simply because I liked him and thought that we might have a future together.

As an editor, I of course very much understand the importance of that position. But in your situation, I think you can get somebody capable for free (deferred pay).

I wish you the best, and please keep us posted! :)

It's really a piece of string question. Rates change depending on geographic region and the experience of said editor and length of employment.

I'm assuming you're talking for a freelancer and not a full time employee, rates for a competent editor come in at $800/day or $3500/week. The good editors usually start at those rates and negotiate up. In quieter areas, I've seen rates as low as $500/day $2200/week, so your mileage may vary.

When working with less experienced or less competent editors, it's the wild, wild west. Anything goes. More often than not, they're desperate for work and readily accept low ball or even deferred offers.

I don't know what you need edited, though if the project is small enough and of personal interest (to the editor), you may be lucky enough to find an experienced editor needing to fill time until their next booking for a reduced rate.

Doesn't mean a thing if the production sound isn't solid. Poor production sound turns audio post into a rescue operation instead of a creative endeavor.