• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Opinions/Criticisms Please

Hello all. I've recently finished a new short script, and I'd love to know what you guys think of it. It's called "Golden Sombrero," which is a baseball term for those of you that don't know. It's not about baseball, by the way. I'm a relatively inexperienced writer and I could certainly use some advice. Mostly, I'd like to hear your opinions of the ending.
Do you think it's too cheesy and formulaic, and/or that I left the fate of the protagonist too vague?

Anyway, here it is: https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&...Zjc3OS00NjUwLTg2Y2YtMDY1NWQwYzEyZmNk&hl=en_US

EDIT: I just read through and spotted a few minor grammar mistakes, as well as one pretty annoying oopsie in the last action section. Feel free to point out any mistakes you find, but I may have beaten you to it on a few of them.

Last edited:
Overall I thought it was good. The dialogue can be tightened up. It reads more like talking heads. Many of the exchanges are too long. Imagine shooting this, you'll be focused on the person for a significant portion of time. While I'm not saying reduce everything to two lines, do go through and sift it down to what's essential.

Code:
               GREG
Not just my savagery, I mean. All men like me. Violent 
criminals keep society in order. More than the cops do, 
anyway. Violence is a distraction, an excitement. It
gathers people’s attention. Every morning people are 
eager to read in their newspapers about what sorts
of bad things men like me did the night before. People 
are always in the mood for violence. Take this baseball 
bat, for instance. I must of cracked three dozen heads 
with it, but it’s always new. It’s fun, it’s fresh, it’s exciting. 
Busting someone’s brains out will never lose my interest, 
or that of the public.

JACK
You got a point here, or are you just trying to convince 
me that everyone is violently insane?