Noob Questions

Hi, I'm quite new to film making. I am very interested in filming short 'action' skits / scenes. That being said, I'd need things like squibs, blow back guns, and the like. Slow motion sequences is something I've always been fascinated with too, so that leads me to believe I'd need a high speed camera to work with.

This may not be the best example, but stuff like this is what I'm interested in filming (skip to 7:10). The whole slowing down the action and showing the impact with all the debris and the guy getting shot is all stuff I'd love to be able to do.

So what exactly would I need? What camera could I get (hopefully without breaking the bank)? What about squibs for peoples bodies and objects to show bullet impact? How would I make them, etc? What about lighting / color correction? What editing program would I use to add the slow motion effects of a gunshot/muzzle-flash (like in that video I liked you to. I currently use Sony Vegas Pro 9 to edit.)?

I enjoy making machinima films (videos shot within a video game engine) and have made quite a few. I'm full well aware of the types of angles I'd want to use and whatnot.

I can't quite think of anything else at the moment. If someone could answer these questions and maybe add some other helpful tips/advice/warnings/whatever, that would be great.

Last edited:
directorik,

As I fancy myself a rather handy fellow, do you have any links to DIY bullet hits with air powered squibs?

Seems it should be very doable..

EDIT: I mean specifically for DIRT hits.. not blood or body..

Last edited:
Squibs are not very dangerous at all. No more than an automobile
or a machete is dangerous. Used improperly both an automobile and
a machete can be a dangerous thing. Used correctly both are useful
tools.

I’ve seen it. I can’t imagine any efx artist thinking it might be
real - or even very expensive. Everything I’ve seen I could easily
duplicate and efx artists with more experience certainly could.