Need a good mic

Anyone film dialogue a lot and use clipon mics? I need 2 of them and in the budget or $20 to $200. I want to stay near $50 and $100. Any good quality mics? Diologue sounds horrible when using only a camcorder.

I do this for a living.... so forgive me if my smug bias shows...

Yes. "Clip on" microphones are the norm. Usually called Lavalier Mics. You can't get great mics for $100 each. You can get great used lavs for $150 each... maybe a bit more. So... What should you do? Either rent really nice microphones (maybe $25 to $50 each) http://www.trewaudio.com/rentals/microphones/ .... or hire a professional sound mixer to help you on set.

Why not just buy cheap mics? Because you're trying to make something that sounds better than horrible. Considering you don't know much about mics.... buying cheap mics and using them poorly will just be money wasted.

Reasons to hire a pro.... You can learn something about sound by watching what this person does. So not only is your money creating a better video... but you're getting a lesson at the same time.

"Its not the toys. It's the boys."
What that quote means... buying mics is only half the battle.

Best of luck!

Last edited:
Yes. "Clip on" microphones are the norm. Usually called Lavalier Mics.
I'm not an audio guy but I didn't know Lavs are the norm
fro recording dialogue on a movie. I always see a mic on
a boom pole. But I get you when you say using Lavs takes
a lot of skill.

Velociraptor451, i suggest getting a mic like the one mussonman
linked to, putting it on a pole and recording dialogue that way.
You aren't going to want to use a wired lav and the wireless system
takes some skill and experience. So does good "booming" - placing
the mic in the right place to get clean dialogue tracks is a skill.

But then I don't do audio for a living.

It sounds like your issue is the on camera mic. You just need to get
a mic close the the actors.