Low Priced Quality Shotgun Mic?

Recently I was searching for a low priced shotugun for my PV-GS70, this is a very small camera so I need a very small mic. I was looking at the AZDEN ECZ-990. This mic is about the same size of the camera.

I like the specifications on this one, but one thing are the specs and the other is how it really responds to sound. I don't expect it to be a super pro mic for the price, but at least I will like to behave as described.

I own the Sony ECM-HGZ1, but in my opinion, it sounds like if the low and high frequecies are supressed and there is 3dB boost of the middle freqs in other words, it sounds like a can phone. I don't know if that sound is normal in this type of mics or what. This is my first time with external mics, and I have no reference.

I know there is a relationship between price and sound quality, but I will like to find "the happy medium point", good audio pickup at an affordable price.

I am open to any suggestion. Alcove, your expertise will be appreciated.

Thanks

Avoid the Azden, it's a piece of junk.

My suggestions:

Rode NTG-2

Audio-Technica AT897

They can use a battery to supply their own phantom power and sound pretty good for the price.

Please do a search - this has been discussed many times - and read my blog.