• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

lighting

hello, I am new to making independent films, I made a live action short in my animation school and I have wanted to do more ever since. I have a grant almost completed except for a few technical items in my budget. I called a place that rents lights and what I thought would be a simple answer turned into a bombardment of 2k, 4k, 10k, and 20k lights. I would be shooting inside a barn, outside a barn, and inside a house for the majority of it(about equal day and night scenes). How many lights do you think I would need and what kind? Thanks.

Get together with your DP and Gaffer for the lighting order. If you don't have a DP or Gaffer yet, you need them at this stage of the shoot (the DP at least).

I agree with Indietalk, and not because I'm a Director of Photography, but because I've worked on hundreds of films. If you're new to filmmaking, then you need cohorts. You need experts in there fields and that's where a DP and a gaffer will help you.

Lighting a barn could take $1000 or $20,000. There are tons of variables. Day? Night? Lots of wide shots? Slow motion (you need more light)? Etc....

Scott

I would be shooting on digital camera preferably. There are a decent amount of wide shots, I was thinking of getting six lights, which would cost about $6300 for a month of so. I would definately want some people who had made films before in specific roles of production, but with a grant it would probably not pay well. I think I could do with 6 lights, I am going for moody lighting as opposed to realistic lighting and can probably manouver the six lights according to the shot that is set up. What do you think?