Legal usage of 1980s music?

Hey everyone,

I plan to make a movie that uses some rather well-known '80s songs (and some not-so-well-known). I will not be selling the movie (it will be made with a Canon HF S100) and will be posting it publicly to vimeo.com when it's done (in a year or so, depending on several things). My question is this; if I can get in contact with the people who actually wrote the songs (Howard Jones, Def Leppard, Heart, Bon Jovi), and told them that I would NOT be selling the movie (and gave them a preview), do you think they'd let me use their music? Also, do you think it's nothing more than a dream to actually get in contact with the people I've listed? Would anything else be required for me to use their music legally?

I'm very new at this, i.e., terms of legal usage of music. Usually I just use royalty free music created by Kevin MacLeod, but that simply will not work for my film. It needs a definite '80s sound to compliment its overall retro-feel/design.

Thanks to all who give me advice! :)
-Yodaman

All songs and the recordings of those songs are
subject to copyright. That is the right to copy.
Selling the movie or making any profit has nothing
to do with the owners right to decide who can use
a copy of their song.

Most of the time the original song writer does not
have a say in how the song is used. You will need
to find out who owns the publishing rights. I do
believe it's nothing more than a dream to actually
get in touch with the people you've listed. They get
tens of thousands of requests a month. It would be
very difficult for them to know the difference between
a fan and a serious filmmaker who needs their music
for their movie.

But that doesn't mean you shouldn't try. If you don't
try you know you cannot get permission. If you do...

You'll have your work cut out for you, that's for sure!