Just a few beginner questions about lenses.

Hey guys, I was wondering if you could clear a few things up for me. I'm a beginner and since I don't have the funds for school, I'm trying to do as much reading and learning as possible online. The thing that's confusing me though, is how lenses work with a supposedly very can-be-manual camera like the T2i for example. Everywhere I turn, I learn that each lens out there of the thousands all have different f-stops, different zooms, ect ect but it confuses me to no end how these lenses 'work' with a digital dslr.

Like, does the dslr read the lens, then give you the only settings you can get from that lens, or what?
Also, what does it mean when someone refers to a lens as 'fast' or 'slow'?

As well, I'm a bit confused about a couple things. On lenses, is the focus ring what 'moves' the depth of field from one position to the other? (like from nearer to the camera, or farther way? Example - when you see pretty lights in videos and they're all huge and blurry , the the cameraman adjusts something and they go back to normal when the dop position reaches them). Additionally, with photography, it sometimes seems that if you know what you're doing, you can accomplish one thing in many different ways. Is there any info about F-stops, distance from subject, shutter speed, the focus position, ect ect that can be combined to really save me money when buying lenses (For example, I'd rather get up in my subjects face then spend 500$ on a more expensive lens if both solves the same problem, or any sort of tricks like that.)

Basically, I'm trying to make sure a few things are correct, because I'm trying to decide on which lenses I should get, and just how many things I truly need and don't need (like I said, I'm just trying to afford one or two lenses.) I definatly already know the beginner facts about photography (shutter speed, aperture, ISO, ect ect).