It's time to get sign-up, we're looking thin...

Having not in a long time, i peered to the side of the Indietalk homepage, to see that our "Members online" count was distinctly below that of our "Guest viewers". A regular occurence perhaps, yet i couldn't help but be disheartened by the margin.

Members online - 48
Guests online - 408

So, here's to hoping that the margin decreases over the next year! :cheers:

Sign-up, we're not so bad...are we?

Well...

Is the website bad? No. The website has a lot of potential and can be very helpful. There are some members on this board that seem to be extremely unhelpful when it comes to the questions being asked by others on the board.

I work as a gaffer for a living. I pay my mortgage, cable, car payment, etc. all by working on film/video productions. I am employed by myself only. I have several clients that call me because of what I know and can do on a shoot. I have been around all types of cameras, lighting equipment, and sets. When there is a question brought up about something I know for a fact and give my opinion about, there are other members, that work at Best Buy for a living who only do this as a hobby, who just seem the need to type their point no matter how wrong they are.

What drive do I have to come back to Indietalk.com? Opinions are great, it gets things moving and I certainly don't know everything about everything. But to see a college sophomore try to put me in my place, when I know what I am talking about is ridiculous. Even I know to shut my mouth when a DP, Director, or Producer is trying to tell me something.