I am not sure which software to get.. for video editing

So i am all planning to make my first short movie

but not too sure on which video editing software i should get.

I read somewhere in this forum that there is a software that has a PLUGIN that will allow me to compress the video, edit it and later on render the original quality on its own.

This way i can do the editing easily and render the original file later on. I do not remember the name of the software.

Does anyone has any idea?

I strongly recommend Adobe Premiere for editing.
You even can color corrections in it.
I have been using it for last 12 years.
I also tried FCP, Vegas and few more but Premiere is easiest, supports wide imp-exp formats.
It can run on low config machine too. Only thing it will take more time to render.

thanks for the responses...

Is there any FREE non-linear video editing software for windows?

And if there are any blender users here, how does blender stacks up as a compositing tool? Can it be a good alternative to Adobe After Effects?

You won't have any luck with Free softwares!

Get the Adobe Production Premium CS5.5, which has everything you need!
If you are a student, you can get it for a very very very cheap price!

thanks for the responses...

Is there any FREE non-linear video editing software for windows?

And if there are any blender users here, how does blender stacks up as a compositing tool? Can it be a good alternative to Adobe After Effects?

Blender is a 3d modeling program; Its basically an open source version of 3ds max or maya; not after effects; they have different purposes.

And I recently found about this NLE recently.
http://www.lightworksbeta.com/

Its in beta so it probably has some bugs, but apparently The King's Speech was edited on this and its totally free! I haven't used it yet but I'm gonna try it out sometime.