How would I do it? (Link to the reference video)

Hello,

I am new in videos. I have Canon T3i with 18-55mm lens. I have couple of question; would be grateful if you give me some insight on these:

In a park, suppose there are leaves of the tree in foreground and there are many trees in background. I want first to focus leaves in the foreground having background trees as blur. Then I want to move the camera and shoot the background tress in focus.

For this:

a) Should I take shot number 1 (of foreground leaves) and then take shot number 2 (of background trees). And then fix that in editing software?

b) Focus and start shooting for foreground leaves then pause and then adjust focus for background trees and resume recording?

c) Or there is another way?

For your reference I have posed the link of the video I shot:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHamS9D2LEQ&feature=youtu.be

Looking forward for your valuable feedback.

Thanking you in anticipation.

Regards,

Riz

What you are referring to is called rack focusing. It is when you begin the shot with a foreground or background image in focus, then quickly pull focus to either the foreground or background, depending on what was in focus at first. You certainly could shoot two shots, one with the foreground in focus and one with the background in focus, then cut them together, but I don't think that's what you are aiming for.

Steve, yes, you are right. I want to know how would I shoot that in most basic manner. Rack focusing would come afterward. Please see the video and let me know why the video is jerky? Is that due to hand-held shooting that I did in this video.

In a park, suppose there are leaves of the tree in foreground and there are many trees in background. I want first to focus leaves in the foreground having background trees as blur. Then I want to move the camera and shoot the background tress in focus.