How to direct people?

Seems like a slightly stupid question, but hey, I'm curious.
I mean, I'm studying A Levels right now & one of them is Drama/Theatre Studies and I've been doing some directing for that.
What I've generally done is decide what kind of tone I want the piece/extract/whatever to have, have the actors go through it, tell them what I think they should do, how they should move etc.
I don't wanna come across as too controlling or incapable of compromise and stuff like that.
So, is this how directing tends to work (bearing in mind this is my first time directing people)?

I like to look at it like this:

The better you cast, the less "directing" you'll have to do.

But hey, that's my opinion. I've only worked with directors - never directed myself. I'm sure other people here would have better advice :)

Where's Directorik?

Taking a cue from Hitchcock:

"Whenever an actor comes to me and asks 'what's my motivation?' I always tell him, 'it's in the script!. If he persists, I tell him, 'your paycheck.'"

Implication being -- everything the actors need to know should be clear in the script first and foremost. The direction can then center on where to put cameras and people and lights.

Also, getting the best actors possible is crucial.

Taking a cue from Hitchcock:

"Whenever an actor comes to me and asks 'what's my motivation?' I always tell him, 'it's in the script!. If he persists, I tell him, 'your paycheck.'"

Implication being -- everything the actors need to know should be clear in the script first and foremost. The direction can then center on where to put cameras and people and lights.

Also, getting the best actors possible is crucial.

I'm not paying people haha.
It's quaint you use a Hitchcock quote since a short I'm doing for school is Hitchcock influenced.

It's just, when I normally direct, I tend to talk a lot about how I think they should move and deliver their lines and things like that.