How much should I charge to film a wedding?

Hi there. I'm an independent filmmaker, 18 and fresh out of high school. Unlike most kids I've had quite a lot of experience covering live events due to my early employment into a news breaking media site.I wouldn't say I'm great and I don't even have an HD camcorder. It's a Mini DV and a Canon XL1s but I'd like to say that I'm still pretty good.

Anyways, I was approached by a production company a few months back saying they could use independent filmmakers like me for work.

They just offered me a small gig to cover a wedding. They asked me what my asking price was.

What should I tell them? What price would seem reasonable? I only need to film the wedding and the editing will be done by someone else.

• Pre-Production: 2 P.m at Location
  • Wedding: 3 P.m to 4 P.m
  • Cocktails: 4 P.m to 5 P.m
  • Dinner: 5 P.m to 6 P.m
  • Reception: 6 P.m to 10 P.m (Depending on the Footage)

Total Hours: 8

You should ask them how much they are charging. I mean if theres say 2 cameras and 1 editor then thats 3 people. Lets say its 1000 bucks they charge (probably more) you should take $1000/3 = 333 then ask for 80% of that since they got you the job from their marketing or what have you. So I'd ask for $266 in this case.

It all depends on how you want to go about it. You could also just ask for 200-300 since its your first time working for them. Then later on ask for a straight percentage of what they charge.

$25/hr would give you $200 gross pay.

Are they an established production company? If so they are probably charging a lot more than $1k.

From your post I would guess that they are not supplying the camera? If you are using your own camera a modest rental fee ($25 -$50) would be appropriate. Make sure you have plenty of fresh batteries. Don't forget your tripod.

Are they supplying the tapes? If not, charge them for the tapes.