from shorts to features

sfoster

Staff Member
how do you make the leap as a director of short films to directing a feature length one, with dvd sales on amazon and netflix?

i'm still new to this, but i figure if i can make a couple awesome shorts then my work would inspire confidence and open new doors somehow. seems nearly impossible getting anyone to watch your stuff though

how do you make the leap as a director of short films to directing a feature length one, with dvd sales on amazon and netflix?

i'm still new to this, but i figure if i can make a couple awesome shorts then my work would inspire confidence and open new doors somehow. seems nearly impossible getting anyone to watch your stuff though
You figure correctly. Many directors have gotten feature jobs based
on a couple of awesome short films.

As examples look up "Peluca", "Within The Woods", "Bottle Rocket",
"Saw", "Six Shooter" and "The Dirk Diggler Story". Those directors
did it. I don't see why you can't.

You know that it's not easy and success happens rarely - but it does
happen.Showing that you have what it takes by making a couple
awesome shorts is a great path to take. When do you finish your first
awesome short?

You figure correctly. Many directors have gotten feature jobs based
on a couple of awesome short films.

As examples look up "Peluca", "Within The Woods", "Bottle Rocket",
"Saw", "Six Shooter" and "The Dirk Diggler Story". Those directors
did it. I don't see why you can't.

You know that it's not easy and success happens rarely - but it does
happen.Showing that you have what it takes by making a couple
awesome shorts is a great path to take. When do you finish your first
awesome short?

I've seen Bottle Rocket and Saw, didn't know they started as short films.
Great to know I don't have my head completely in the clouds.

So far all I've done was this funny documentary remix, I think it's fantastic but I couldn't even get my friends to watch it haha.
"The Dance of Seduction"