Film Software and Technologies

Hey everyone, My name is Rob, and I'm new to Indie Talk. I'm currently in my Senior year of Film School, and working on a project to use technology, and computer Software to make filmmakers lives easier.

Thinking about software like Movie Magic, and Final Draft, Final Cut Pro, and Communities like this, I am trying to think about some awesome ideas to use software to make filmmakers lives better.

If you guys have any ideas, I would be so grateful. If all goes well i'm looking at getting grants to put these technologies into play.

Great to meet you all. -Rob

Tech is cool

You put your ear to the ground for DIY in filmmaking and you'll get plenty of ideas. Think of all the small one man crews out here..

Hers a potential million dolor invention for you. A pull focus robot. Using face recognition software, motion tracking and what not, allow for the camera operator to select a face or object from a group of faces or objects and lock focus to that face or object. Now the operator can keep the frame while the robot pulls the focus. Do this all in software and you can sell it to Canon or Sony and it might end up in the next gen cameras.

Welcome, Rob!

Sounds like a fine idea. What have you thought of so far
that might make filmmakers lives better. It seems like
there are plenty of great online communities like this
one, several excellent pieces of software for screenwriting,
all the pre-production and production software is available
and there are several different editing programs already
developed for all price ranges and skill levels.

Since you are the one thinking up awesome ideas, what have
you noticed while making movies that you might need that
you don't have?

Right away I can't really think of anything. Maybe you could
start the ball rolling with your ideas and that would spark
something.

Welcome.
You may approach your development ideas from two angles: technical and creative.