• Wondering which camera, gear, computer, or software to buy? Ask in our Gear Guide.

Every single scene explains the whole script - is that possible?

I'm a student to cinematography. Recently I was tasked to write a scene from within my script. I did.
I was told that this scene isn't understandable. Who is who? Why? What? Where? Why should I care?
Well, it's a random scene from within the script. It's not supposed to stand alone.

Of course I wrote a short description of what is relevant for the current scene, the background. But the teacher didn't want to read it. He said that every scene (big scenes of course) should summarize the entire script. So if a producer opens the script in a random page and picks a random scene, he will understand what the story is about.

WHAT?????

I've read a lot of scripts, and I barely saw that happening. In fact, most of the times if I open a random scene, I don't understand what the story is about, before I read at least the previous and the following scenes. The only times when I DID understand the whole story from one scenes, were the scenes which contain the "Inciting Incident" of the story, or the"Culmination". Well, because those 2 are the "key" scenes. But not the others. Sometimes maybe the opening scenes. But that's it.

So, the question... is that even possible, that every big scene in the script will summarize the whole story?

Maybe in Israel, budgets are so low, you can only afford to shoot one scene per movie? ;)

is that even possible

Sure it's possible, but it'll be for a shitty film.

There are a few possibilities:
1). You pissed off this teacher (or someone else did and they're just in a bad mood or it just unhappy with his/her life)
2). You misunderstood what he means.
3). S/He is leading by example. By showing you in this interaction, you understand the entire story of your teachers' life where the morale is "Those who cannot do, teach."