Equipment and techniques

Hey I'm pretty new to filmmaking and I'm young so I'm on a kindof low budget . Right now I've got a 720p Sony camcorder, some industrial lights, a couple of microphones, and a glidecam coming in the mail soon. I don't know what else I need as far as equipment goes but I do have a couple of questions
1.camera has no microphone jack so what should I do
2.how do you do selective focus
3.any tips or tricks you can share
I am young so like I said I'm on a low budget. And suggestions would help and thanks for your time

What is the model of the Sony camera? '720p' isn't the model number, that's the output resolution.

Well those in the industry would record their audio on a separate device and then sync the audio and video together in post.

What do you hope to achieve in your film making? One thing I suggest to do is to try and replicate a scene from a film trying to get the same camera angles and similar costumes and such. This way you develop an appreciation for the art as well as a better understanding of how to set up the camera and the scene.

Last edited:
1. Camera has no microphone jack so what should I do. Right now I've got... a couple of microphones...

You use a separate audio recording system. The recorder you select will depend entirely upon your budget and the specific mics you own will dictate how they are connected to the recorder.

Getting the mic off of the camera and properly aimed with a boom-pole will improve your sound greatly.

This thread may be of some help:

http://www.indietalk.com/showthread.php?t=44668

What is the model of the Sony camera? '720p' isn't the model number, that's the output resolution.

Well those in the industry would record their audio on a separate device and then sync the audio and video together in post.