Canon t2i for filmmaking questions

Ok guys...I'm new to filmmaking but not new to the industry. I'm an actor/writer that does have a background in computer engineering so i'm still a little technical but nowhere near where i'd like to be.

However, I want to start shooting a web series i wrote and just hire a dp to work with me and show me some stuff. I like what i'm seeing with the canon t2i (7d and 5d mark II, but those are a little out of my price range when I include sound and lighting).

I'm curious what suggestions you guys have out there for lenses and extras I need with this camera to shoot some decent quality stuff. Also, in regards to the manual focus...how difficult will that be for an amateur to handle? Should it be mostly tripod shots or is it still alright to do shoulder mounted and dolly shots with manual focus on the smaller dslr?

Basically I want something that looks and sounds professional...i know that is asking a lot for someone who's experience is on the other side of the camera...but i gotta start somewhere and renting the equiptment is not much cheaper than buying it.

Thoughts suggestions?

Bez

Also, I understand the importance of sound.

I'm looking at getting a decent sound package...

similar to the guy who had a 2000 budget

2) RODE NTG-2 Dual Powered Directional Condenser Microphone -$ 389
RODE Mini Boompole
RODE SM4 Shock Mount
RODE 20' XLR to XLR Cable
RODE Thin Padded Carrying Case w/Strap

however i can spend prob 300 or so more than him...so should i get the same stuff with a sennheiser mic? Will it be that easy just the change out the mic in this package?

Also, in regards to the manual focus...how difficult will that be for an amateur to handle? Should it be mostly tripod shots or is it still alright to do shoulder mounted and dolly shots with manual focus on the smaller dslr?