Camera that I can use

Hello everybody, I'm new to this forum.

I'm a former college soccer player who is trying to get a video production company going, I will start from the bottom, I graduated with a mass communications degree but soccer kept me really busy in the past.

I want to know what will be the cheapest camera for the best shooting, I can work with anythinh under $1, 000 since I have to pay student loans and stuff, I just need 2 reliable cameras so I can start shooting.

I went to the local Best Buy but their opcions are very limited, they only had 2 cameras that you can adapt a microphone.

I work in health care now, I hate it but it pays my bills.

Thanks in advance, Im glad I found this place, this is good stuff.

Is that $1000 total, or per camera (since you mention wanting/needing two cameras)?

Nothing in that range is going to offer you much support for sound. You can go with DSLR, but then you'll need to look at better lenses than whatever kit lens is included. In-camera sound will be miserable, and you'll need to look at a dual-system audio kit (mics, mixer/recorder, headphones, cables, bag).

You could also go with a compact consumer/prosumer camcorder. In your price range, the Canon Vixia line may be the best bet. Look at the HF G20. If you look at others, read the specs carefully. A lot of consumer cameras now offer only 60p shooting. That's fine if 60p is all you want, or if you'll eventually be delivering in 60i, but if you want the 24p look you'll be out of luck. Also, you'll still find the camera lacking in sound capability, so a second system will be needed.

Whichever camera you choose, you need also to budget for spare batteries. One battery is not enough to get you through a full shoot day without stopping to recharge for an hour or two. You'll also need a good, solid tripod with fluid head for each camera. You'll also need a few memory cards to make sure you have plenty of recording media for a shoot day.