benefits of hiring a DP

I'm currently knee deep in preproduction for my first short. I'm trying to slim-down & pre-plan as much as possible to minimize chaos when the shoot begins.

Since this is also the first time working w/ talents ( actor & sound mixer ), I was planning to take the role of DP/CO as well. It just seems too iffy to throw DP to the mix & try to contend w/ leading 3 strangers.

But as I'm thinking more about the actual lighting plan & camera works, I wonder if it's actually advantageous to snag a DP. Maybe the stress of working w/ a new person wouldnt be as harsh as trying to shoot & direct at the same time. I have some experience with lighting and camera work, but I'm still a novice.

any thoughts or recommendations based on personal experience?

I have never found it stressful working with others on
movies I direct. If you would find it stressful then you
should work with a DP. I happen to love that collaboration.
Just as I love working with audio people, editors, costumers,
make up artists and everyone else on a movie. And I have
worked with complete strangers before - and love that, too.

Not sure if my experience helps but I really don't have any
advice on what would work for you. I think if working with
a DP will stress you then don't do it.

I think if working with
a DP will stress you then don't do it.

I guess I don't really know if I will like it, since this is my first go. Just a bit nervous, since the whole thing is a big unknown; and on top of that, the entire crew are strangers. But I guess it would be nice to just go for it. Managing a big crew is kinda intimidating.