Aiming for Sundance... Need to upgrade gear

Hola

I'm an amateur film-maker who's looking to get serious and start working his way towards making a festival level indie feature. I want to get into Sundance within the next 4 years.

I've been shooting with a Nikon D5100 for the past couple of years. It's not great, but I've been able to learn a lot. I'm looking to upgrade my gear this summer. Got about 6000 dollars. Has to include the camera, the basic lenses, the stabilization and support gear and the audio gear. I've been looking at everything from the Mark III to the Pocket Cinema Camera. I'm really intrigued by the GH4.

Got any suggestions?

Your job is to be a story teller.

Instead of focusing on gear (pardon the pun) put your time and funds into hiring talent. Retain a UPM, DoP/Cinematographer, 1st AD, PSM, etc. Preproduce the living daylights out of your project, then go over it with a fine toothed comb, then preproduce some more. Treat your cast and crew like gold. Get an experienced editor and supervising sound editor. That's what will get you into Sundance.

Hola

I'm an amateur film-maker who's looking to get serious and start working his way towards making a festival level indie feature. I want to get into Sundance within the next 4 years.

I've been shooting with a Nikon D5100 for the past couple of years. It's not great, but I've been able to learn a lot. I'm looking to upgrade my gear this summer. Got about 6000 dollars. Has to include the camera, the basic lenses, the stabilization and support gear and the audio gear. I've been looking at everything from the Mark III to the Pocket Cinema Camera. I'm really intrigued by the GH4.

Got any suggestions?

Gear isn't going to make your production any better, practice will. You have a camera already, keep at it.

You need to upgrade your story-telling, writing and Directing actors skills.