A more economical alternative to the Red?

By Hollywood standards, I guess the Red is the ultimate poor-man's camera. But I'm considering the possibility (likelihood) that I won't be able to afford it. I haven't entirely ruled-out the 5D or another DSLR, but I'm hoping to avoid that. This looks like a nice alternative, and would probably be affordable to rent:

http://vimeo.com/32067654

I'm not a camera techie. For those of you who are, what are your thoughts on this? The goal of the movie is theatrical distribution.

Or, let me ask it this way -- if you wanted to make a movie that you want to get into theaters, but you couldn't afford the Red, what would you shoot on?

This camera looks like it's going to be awesome. Have you seen the price tag though? It costs about the same (maybe a tad more) to get this as it does a shooting RED Scarlet.

We talked a lot about the pros and cons in the release night thread, but it's a long one. My summary (of my opinion) is that the Scarlet is better for a feature, though harder to work with the files in post. Still a lot more potential though, and te RED name carries some weight.

The biggest downside of the C300 is that it's only 1080p. While lower resolution movies have secured theater distribution in the past, 1920x1080 is a little low-res for theater screens. The Sarlet can do up to 2K in HDRx mode or up to 4k at standard 24p. Pretty impressive considering the price tag.

Shooting a serial or something you have to edit ASAP and continually, the Canon wins. Those files are similar to current DSLR files edit wide, just way more pretty.

To answer your final question, since if you couldn't afford a Scarlet then you probably couldn't afford this... I'd go 5D, it's the only camera with the cine look that's legitimately cheaper.

Last edited: