550D for indie filmmakers?

Hi everyone,
Im on an urge to purchace Canon 550D very soon for the sole purpose of making independent films. I have been using mini dv prior to this and now would like to join the bandwagon of DSLR filmmakers.
Being a noob I need some expert opinion in addition to answers to few questions.

1) First of all, is it a recommended model for independent film makers?

(Since there is no auto focus, would it be okay to shoot handheld?)

2) Which lens would you suggest for a beginner to start with?

3) How long is the video recorded?

4) How would you suggest to record sound when shooting?

Boom mic (I believe there is no headphone plug in this camera, then how will I be able to check the sound while shooting?)
or

External device? Please kindly do suggest any brands/models for both.

5) My final question, What computer system, specifications and software is advisable for editing the HD videos?

Thank you and warmest regards. :)

1. It's a great choice for indie filmaking, yes. Even the 7D and T2i would work.

* You don't ever want to auto focus...learn to use manual 95% of the time. Pull focus is a bitch, but a necessity when shooting with lenses and utilizing the depth of field that mimics the cinema we strive to match.

2. A nice wide angle, and one zoom. I don't know specifics...but basically two that cover as much ground as possible.

3. This depends on the chip you're using I think. It's something around 12 minutes of continuous footage...or is that 20...shoot I don't know.

4. Externally. You'll want to get a little digital recorder and a decent boom.

5. There are several options...Final Cut, Avid, Premiere...I'm sure there are others.

HOpe I helped...I didn't give any real specifics, sorry.

Good luck.