would like to network w/other newbs

Hi,

I am just getting started, & would love to get to talk to some other newbs here, as well as any more experienced indie directors I can find, too. I am currently getting stuff together to try to do my first film on almost no budget...actually, I do not know if I even qualify as no-budget, since the definitions change every few years, it seems!

I am currently looking for the camera, trying to translate some disjointed random scenes into a meaningful script, and wondering where to get some good volunteer actors & actresses, since SAG has pretty much locked down even the most obscure local unknowns.

I have a disability which makes the whole thing even more challenging. I won't give up, though...

So, anyway, thanks for reading; and if you would like to strike up a chat, please reply here, or message me, or whatever. I already enjoy the discussions I read here.

Hey welcome. I'm hoping to do my first short film once I've saved enough for a decent camera.
I'm my own screenwriter too so that keeps me busy while I save.
About the disability, I'm sure it won't stop you from chasing your dream. I don't think someones disability has truly ever stopped them from doing what they want to do - unless they give into it.
Best of luck.

:welcome:

Finding cast & crew doesn't have to be an impossible task, if you're near any major city, there is probably a section on craigslist for that city. You can post a free classified ad there in the appropriate area (under gigs, talent for the cast, and crew for the crew). But I would suggest you get your script solid before worrying about any of that.

:)

SAG has pretty much locked down even the most obscure local unknowns.

That's not the case, at all.

There are tens of thousands of non-SAG actors (many good ones, too!) who try to make a living at performing.